Boston Celtics: The Big Green Machine

We'll be back and better than ever!

What do we do now?

Posted by r1zzo23 on June 29, 2007

With the roster that we have right now, I would say that we are a lock for the playoffs, but I don’t see us much higher than the 6th seed. I’m not happy with just making the playoffs year in and year out and losing in the first round. So with that said, there has to be someone acquired before the season. I think going for Kevin Garnett is too much as I’m not looking forward to giving up Al Jefferson at all. I have a few options that could work, but at what price?

First up is Andrei Kirilenko. He’s a defensive presence that would be huge for the Celtics, but that would still leave Al Jefferson at center on defense, so I’m not too big on that. He also has a hefty contract for the next four seasons, so you would have to give Theo’s deal up to acquire him. Where would the money for Al’s extension come from?

The second option would to bring in the Defensive Player of the Year: Marcus Camby. A UMass alumni (shameless plug), he fits the billing for the Celtics as a true center and he brings an obvious boost to the team’s defense. Although he does have some injury problems, this would be my first choice assuming that Pau Gasol is not available (I hate you Chris Wallace!). Camby wouldn’t demand the ball on offense, and that’s obviously a plus with Allen and Pierce going to dominate the ball on the outside and Jefferson providing the inside scoring.

Last but not least, a player that requires no trade; Jamaal Magloire. A former all-star, Magloire gives us some good defense, rebounds and a big body to allow Al Jefferson to go back to playing power forward. Obviously nowhere near Camby’s talent level, but to use our Mid-Level Exception on him would be fine with me. Let him and Perk man the middle and Jefferson, Gomes and Big Baby (hate the pick) at power forward, that would be a good rotation to roll with. Hold on to Theo’s contract to extend Al next season and I guess we build with that.

With that said, my list looks like this:

  1. Pau Gasol (not happening)
  2. Marcus Camby
  3. Jamaal Magloire
  4. Kevin Garnett
  5. Andrei Kirilenko

Whether any of this happens is clearly beyond my reach, but who knows, maybe in a few years I’ll be calling the shots for the Big Green Machine…

2 Responses to “What do we do now?”

  1. Jon said

    “Big Baby (hate the pick)”?

    I just came back from the Marc Gasol link where you listed Davis as one of 3 guys you wanted at #32. I read that you don’t like him being considered a backup Center. Fine, but obviously you thought he would be a decent player if you were hoping we got him on draft night. Am I missing something here or did you just sour on him in a week’s time?

  2. r1zzo23 said

    I guess I just kind of got caught up on grabbing a big man that I figured I would settle on for Davis if we had to. Thing was, Gasol and Fasenko were both on the board, so I would have much rather have taken one of them and been able to allow Al Jefferson to play his natural PF position.

Leave a Reply

 
