Boston Celtics: The Big Green Machine

We'll be back and better than ever!

Traded MVP’s Win Titles

Posted by r1zzo23 on August 3, 2007

I found this stat on which was found somewhere else.

Seven of the 11 former MVPs when switching away from the team they won the MVP award with go on to win the NBA championship. Those mvp’s are:

  1. Bob McAdoo
  2. Kareem Abdul Jabbar
  3. Wilt Chamberlain
  4. Oscar Robertson
  5. Moses Malone
  6. Shaquille O’Neal
  7. Bill Walton

The other four MVPs that didn’t win titles after being traded were Cowens, Olajuwon, Iverson and Barkley. Cowen and Olajuwon maybe shouldn’t even be on the list because Cowens effectively retired and Hakeem was much past his prime.

Does this mean Kevin Garnett is destined to bring title #17 to Boston in his tenure? Only time will tell


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: