Boston Celtics: The Big Green Machine

We'll be back and better than ever!

Props to the Prince

Posted by r1zzo23 on May 23, 2009

87746154ML100_Orlando_Magic

Watching last night’s game between the Magic and the Cavaliers was a roller coaster ride of emotions. For those who don’t know, I am rooting for the Magic to win because I don’t believe they can beat either the Lakers or the Nuggets and I just don’t want Cleveland or LeBron James to win a title. So as the Magic have the ball with 13.6 seconds remaining and the shot clock turned off in a tied game, I assumed that they would get the last shot of regulation. If they hit it, they win. If they don’t, they go to overtime.

The Magic put the ball in Hedo Turkoglu’s hands and he went isolation on Sasha Pavlovic. The execution was pretty ugly, but the end result was a 2-point basket with only one second remaining in isolation. It was great to see the Magic hit a shot, but they left Cleveland just one second of life to tie or win the game. Unfortunately, it was the latter.

As Cleveland was inbounding, they tried to get LeBron James a lob pass for two points, only Stan Van Gundy warned Turkoglu about it and it was halted. I noticed Zydrunas Ilgauskus was open in the near corner, but Mo Williams didn’t even look his way. He told LeBron the ball was coming to him no matter what. So after Hedo stopped the lob attempt, James nudges him off, runs back towards the three-point line and nails a game-winning shot at the buzzer. The place goes crazy and Prince James, theoretically, saves the season. The Cavaliers went wild as they knew the importance of that shot.

The post-game interview with LeBron was just a lot of him tooting his own horn, but Marv Albert Craig Sager didn’t exactly help the situation by continuing to ask him about how great the shot was. I have to give LeBron props where they are due: that was by far the biggest shot of his career. He has officially earned the name Prince James in my book. I won’t be calling him the king until he wins an NBA title. Still, that was a dagger shot to my heart and all the Magic fans and Cavalier haters in the world.

2 Responses to “Props to the Prince”

  1. Matt said

    So wait…

    I understand not wanting James to be crowned King. But you’re rooting for the Magic BECAUSE you DON”T think they can beat the Lakers or the Nuggets?

    You WANT Jackson to get another ring, passing Red? You want the Lakers to narrow the gap in banners and have bragging rights? I think the Magic can take either WC team, but if you don’t, you should prefer James and the short term irritation, especially with the fact that the C’s can still say the Cavs haven’t beaten this Celtics incarnation in the playoffs.

    Supporting the Lakers? Really?

    • r1zzo23 said

      I should set the record straight. I know this is blasphemy from a Celtics fan, but I do not hate the Lakers. I was born in 1986, so any chance of living through the Celtics/Lakers rivalry was not possible for me.

      When I started watching the NBA with great attention, the Celtics were horrible, but I still supported them. I was a huge Shaq fan when he was in Orlando, so naturally when he left for LA, my allegiance followed him. I started reading up on Kobe Bryant through SLAM magazines, so I was a huge fan of him as well. It just so happened he got traded to the Lakers on draft day, turning me into a Lakers fan at the same time.

      Do I want Phil Jackson to pass Red Auerbach in career coaching titles? Absolutely not. Do I want to see the Lakers come closer to matching our franchise’s record of NBA titles? No way, Jose. Do I want to see Kobe Bryant, at some point, win a 4th ring without Shaquille O’Neal. I can openly admit that I do.

      To be honest, I find myself rooting for the Nuggets in this series, even as a quasi-Lakers fan, because I want to see Melo win a title before LeBron. Thanks for the comment, Matt, and I can fully understand why you feel that way. Hopefully this reply can explain the way I feel about the Lakers.

Leave a Reply

 
