Boston Celtics: The Big Green Machine

We'll be back and better than ever!

KG: My History In Minnesota Has Passed

Posted by r1zzo23 on November 5, 2009

From Mark Murphy:

“It’s easy to come in here and focus, because they don’t have any of my old teammates here now,” he said. “My history from here has passed. I did take a moment tonight to look around, but there are so many changes here that I can’t relate to, so I have no reason to.”

“There was separation for me the moment I was traded (to the Celtics),” Garnett said. “The guys I had a special relationship with had moved on, and I never looked back. When a new page in my book turns, I try to embrace that.”

Kevin Garnett has always been one of the hardest workers in the league and is one of the more passionate players in the league. Personally, I think that playing in Minnesota for so long without getting the ultimate prize or at least given a chance by the front office to win a title made him even more hungry to win. And as much as he would have loved to win a title in Minnesota, winning one in Boston was his way of telling Minnesota’s front office “look what could have been”.

Looking at the Timberwolves’ roster, there is nobody left from the KG era in Minnesota. No Troy Hudson, Wally Szczerbiak, Latrell Sprewell or any other long-time Timberwolf that couldn’t help Kevin get over the hump in Minnesota is left on the roster. Garnett is honored to have played in Minnesota for so long, but is ready to put it in the past and forget about it. All that matters to him is winning a title for Boston and he has this team on a mission.

Looking at Garnett’s career, you have to think “what could have been” if he was playing in a major market with an organization willing to make the moves necessary to win.

Leave a Reply

 
